The first days of my internship in Malta - Reisverslag uit Sliema, Malta van Tessa Hooijman - WaarBenJij.nu The first days of my internship in Malta - Reisverslag uit Sliema, Malta van Tessa Hooijman - WaarBenJij.nu

The first days of my internship in Malta

Door: Tessa Hooijman

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tessa

08 Mei 2015 | Malta, Sliema

Tuesday the real work began! At 9 o’clock I had to start my internship at Giggles Nursery and Daycare. Giggles Nursery and Daycare is a daycare for children aged between 2 and 5. The children can be brought in from 7.30 am and it closes at 5 pm. All day long the children learn things while playing.

First, they showed me everything I needed to know in the daycare and explained my tasks. After that I could go into the playroom to meet the children. The children are around the age of 3 and already speak a little bit of English. In the morning at around half past 8 the children have circle time. They need to sit in a circle to pray and sing songs together. This was a big difference in comparison to what I am used to in the Netherlands and I think that I will know every English song for children when I come back home! 

My working days are from 9 till 3 o’clock, so in the afternoon I have time to walk through Sliema. When I finished working on Tuesday I went to meet Sylvia and we went home. In the evening we went to Valletta to drink something. We expected it to be very busy, because it is the capital city, but there was not much to do.

On Wednesday I went to work again. You could see that the children were getting more used to me than the day before. They came up to me to talk and play. It is very nice to help children around these ages because they are still very affectionate. At 3 o’clock I left work and went home. Sylvia was finished at half past 5, so we did not do anything that afternoon. In the evening we went to a lounge in Sliema called MedAsia to drink something with Roel and Martijn, who are also doing their internship in Malta. We had a nice time but went home quite early, because we were very tired of the working day.

On Thursday I was finished at half past 3 and went with Sylvia through Sliema. In the evening we had a barbecue, which was organized by AM-language. We went to the rooftop of the school and ate hamburgers and hotdogs. Afterwards we played some games and went to the karaoke bar in Sliema. We sang and danced and chatted with the other people who are also on an internship in Malta. It was really amazing and maybe we will go again next week!

Today at work we painted stones with the children to give to their mothers at Mother’s day next Sunday. It was very nice to see how much fun they had! I could leave a bit earlier, because a lot of children were already picked up early because it was almost weekend.

Tonight we will be going to Paceville. Tomorrow we will sleep a little bit longer and afterwards we will go to a pool in Sliema at the coast. On Sunday we will go to Mdina, the old capital city of Malta.
This weekend will definitely going to be a good one!!! 

I will post a new blog after the weekend!

  • 09 Mei 2015 - 19:41

    Gertjan:

    Ha die Tessa,

    hartstikke leuk verslag. Volgens mij gaat het helemaal goed komen op Malta. Als je maar geen Maltees vriendje tegen het lijf loopt want ik vind 2 weken jouw missen al erg lang !!

    Veel plezier nog !

  • 10 Mei 2015 - 17:54

    I. Van Lankveld:

    Hoi Tessa,

    In jouw verslag lees ik dat het je goed bevalt. Vooral het werken met de kleine kinderen. Gezellig eten. Na het 'werk' lekker met Sylvia wat drinken. Geniet er nog van de komende week!!!!

    Veel plezier en groetjes,

    I. van Lankveld

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Tessa

Actief sinds 01 Mei 2015
Verslag gelezen: 191
Totaal aantal bezoekers 4115

Voorgaande reizen:

02 Mei 2015 - 16 Mei 2015

Malta

Landen bezocht: